GeorgianRussian (CIS)English
  • Facebook: centersanni


E-mail Print PDF

Cerebral palsy is divided into five major classifications to describe different movement impairments. The five major classifications are:

  • spastic – increasing muscle tonus, the detection of which is decreased through repeated movements;
  • athetosis – permanent involuntary movements;
  • stiff - solid, tight muscles, which always contradict with passive movements;
  • ataxia – equilibrium disorder due to frequent fallings;
  • tremor of limbs

Spastic and athetoid disorders represent approximately 85% of the disease.

In accordance with localization of symptoms the following forms are singled out:

  • monoparesis (including one limb)
  • hemiparesis (including upper and lower limbs of one part of a body totally or partially);
  • paraparesis (including both upper or both lower extremities)
  • tetraparesis (including all four limbs totally or partially)
  • atonic- astatic form (body insubmission);
  • mixed
  • hyperkinetic forms
and so on.
Home About CP Forms